Joint International Symposia on US/EU Patent Practice 2021

May 20 / June 10 / July 1Next Week

The Oblon and Maiwald firms are pleased to announce a series of joint symposia on: US and European Patent Practice – Important Aspects for Practitioners. These will take place virtually on the following dates:

1. Thursday, 20 May 2021 at 16:00 JST (09:00 CEST- 20 May; 03:00 EDT- 20 May)
2. Thursday, 10 June 2021 at 10:00 JST (03:00 CEST- 10 June; 21:00 EDT- 9 June)
3. Thursday, 1 July 2021 at 16:00 JST (09:00 CEST- 1 July; 03:00 EDT- 1 July)


Last year, we unfortunately had to cancel our joint symposia in Tokyo and Osaka due to the COVID-19 pandemic. We will instead conduct the symposia this year over a series of three online events, as travel is still restricted. Each symposium will be scheduled for 1.5 hours including a Question-and-Answer session. We hope that we will be able to return to in-person meetings with our clients in the near future!

At this 2021 series of virtual joint symposia, we will together examine current aspects of patent practice from the US and European perspectives. Each topic will consider the differences in patent practice between the US and Europe, and we will together explore strategies for navigating through these differences. In particular, the online symposia will address in detail the following three topics for today’s practitioners:

1. Third party observations – EP and US perspectives
Thursday, 20 May 2021 at 16:00 JST, online

2. Computer-implemented inventions – an update from the EP and US perspectives
Thursday, 10 June 2021 at 10:00 JST, online

3. Support for claim amendments / claim interpretation – EP and US perspectives
Thursday, 1 July 2021 at 16:00 JST, online

Oblon speakers will include: James Love, Dr. David Longo, Yuki Onoe, and Andy Ollis

If you are interested in attending, please note that the symposia will be live and will take place at the times noted above in Japan Standard Time. To register, please send an e-mail to patentconference@oblon.com, indicating on which of the date(s)/topic(s) you wish to attend. Please note that registration by e-mail is only possible up to 24 hours before each respective event.

Resources